L’Oreal Studio Secrets Smoothing Resurfacing Primer

When talking to friends about makeup, primer is one of the most asked about products on the market. People either have no idea what it is, don’t know how to use it or think it’s a marketing ploy aimed at eating your dollars.

While the function of most primers is the same (a barrier between your skin and makeup, acting as a base for your foundation), one of the most confusing things I find is all the different types available! Pore-reducing, illuminating, SPF-inclusive, mineral, smoothing – the list goes on. Like all skin care and makeup options, it’s about finding a solution to your issue.

I personally like to mix and match my primers, depending on the time of day, the type of makeup I’ll be using and how long I’ll be wearing it for. One that I’ve recently been getting to know a little better is the L’Oreal Studio Secrets Professional Smoothing Resurfacing Primer.

Looks can be deceiving. While it’s only 15mls, you only need the tiniest amount to make a big difference to your makeup routine. After tapping my fingers on the top of the strawberry-mousse looking primer and using outward circling swipes, my skin felt like the softest, slippery velvet thanks to the silicone oils. Oh, did my foundation glide on or what?! Another bonus was the larger pores around my nose and forehead looked and felt more even. There’s nothing worse than a great foundation job only to find that after a few hours, your pores look like open wells, just drinking it up. With this primer, it feels like any little pore dips or fine lines are ‘filled in’ and made to feel smooth and soft. Don’t over-apply though, or you may find it will ball up, although you can just brush those away.

Be careful, especially now it’s summer, as this primer doesn’t contain any SPF. Like I said, there’s so many different options on the market, it’s just about mixing and matching to make it work for you. So, you might choose a moisturiser with SPF, or use a foundation that contains it. Easy!

Have you tried this primer? What did you think?

 

 

 

5 Responses to “L’Oreal Studio Secrets Smoothing Resurfacing Primer”


  1. 1 Katie Found December 13, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Hi Holly,

    I’ve actually been meaning to write an article on primers for a while now – I’ve gathered so many over the past year and, like you, I mix and match them depending on the weather, time of day, which makeup I’ll be applying over it, etc. I haven’t used Studio Secrets yet, but will definitely try it out, it sounds pretty amazing! My absolute favourite so far is the YSL ‘Matt Touch’. My skin can get quite oily throughout the day and I found that this keeps my makeup in place and minimises the shine. Again, you only need a minuscule amount so it lasts for ages. And it has a gorgeous light floral scent which is a nice touch (especially whilst applying makeup at some ridiculous hour of the morning)!

    I’ve got a question for you though, I have been looking into the difference between eyelid primers, lip primers and general face primers, do you use different primers for different areas of your face? xx

  2. 2 Stella December 13, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I’ve recently tried a Revlon primer which was reaallyyy cheap (I think about $13)and it’s actually one of my favourites. Makes applying foundation so smooth and easy :)

  3. 3 tegan December 13, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    my favourite is smashbox photofinish, it makes my make-up sit beautifully.

    I tried the loreal one and found that it balled up on application too! it made it a little hard to get an even application, although i did like the finish that it gives. I don’t think that I love it as a primer really though, i might stick to good ol’ smashbox for awhile!

  4. 4 Beauty December 13, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    I want to share our joy! This works wonders! Super!

  5. 5 Jan March 22, 2011 at 3:37 am

    I just started using the Loreal primer and like it, but I am wondering if it’s okay, or necessary, to apply moisturizer before applying the primer?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

