Save vs Splurge: Under-eye Illuminators

Under-eye dark circles and bags – the bane of many women’s beauty routine. How many products and remedies have you tried, let alone heard about? As a naturally dark-circled girl, I take great excitement in these two products, either of which I use every single day and which most importantly work. I can’t be bothered with thick and heavy concealers, I want to pat something on and go – which is why I love these two so much. Now, the only thing left to do is choose which one is best for you!

 

SAVE

Garnier Roll-On Anti-dark Circles Light ($18.95)

  • There’s a lot of product (15mL) for the price – I can’t see this one running out any time soon!
  • While Garnier claim the metal roller ball will cool and de-puff your eyes, I think it’s a bit unrealistic. To effectively cool and de-puff, the roller ball would need to roll over your socket more than once – which would leave a huge and unworkable amount of product on your skin! One roll delivers the right amount of product, so that claim can be debunked.
  • The product effectively covers dark circles with a radiant finish, lightening the under-eye area.
  • It is easily worked into the skin – what you want when working around the delicate eye area.

 

 

SPLURGE

Clarins Instant Light Brush-On Perfector ($59.00)


  • Love the sleek, luxe gold packaging. This is an item you’ll definitely want to whip out in front of others in the bathroom.
  • Blends easily into the skin, no need for rough rubbing or pulling of the under-eye area.
  • I love the brush tip applicator as it allows for more precise application; I can get it right into the corners of my eyes.
  • The brush tip allows for more versatile use; apply a line down the bridge of your nose for a slimming illusion, or my favourite, trace a line across the top of your lips and lightly blend for Angelina lips in a second!
  • One click delivers enough product, which helps eliminate wastage.
  • Effective coverage of dark circles with fantastic illumination and brightening of the under-eye area.

 

So, what do you think? Would you dish out a little more cash for some versatility and the luxe golden outer that is Clarins? Or would you rather stick to your budget and go the Garnier? I would love to know!

 

 



 

6 Responses to “Save vs Splurge: Under-eye Illuminators”


  1. 1 Jade January 20, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I recently had a lil splurge on an under eye illuminator/concealer, waiting on it to arrive. I guess the luxe feel and look sometimes manages to suck me in haha

  2. 2 hollyjcurtis January 20, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Oo they do, don’t they Jade! Which one did you buy? x

  3. 3 Jade January 20, 2011 at 11:52 am

    By Terry Touche Veloutee I think it’s called, might pop up a review next week :)

  4. 4 Tine January 20, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I’ve not tried the Clarins one you mentioned, but I did splurge on the YSL Touche Eclat even though I had a Bourjois one which does exactly the same thing. I can’t help it; I’m just a sucker for luxe packaging :P

  5. 5 Jessica January 20, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I’ve heard many good things about the Garnier roll on so I’m really interested to try it out for myself!

  6. 6 Nadia January 29, 2011 at 6:21 am

    I’m a sucker for luxe products but this year I am trying hard to stick to my monthly beauty budget. So, guess there won’t be too much of luxe products for me then.

    On another note, I do love that Garnier roll on as well. The Clarins one sounds intriguing. Might try it next time


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 100 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

