Packaging Tweaks

There is a product, among many, that I love and use daily.

This product is Benefit High Beam:

I love how it can slot into any level of make up that you chose to wear for the day.

Want to wear barely anything? Great! Mix your daily moisturiser (the one with broad spectrum SPF right? Of course!) with a dab of High Beam and you’ll get a just-there radiance that will have people wondering what you’ve done differently.

You can step it up to the next level by mixing it in with your tinted moisturiser for the same kind of effect.

Really get glowing by adding a streak up your cheekbone over the top of your foundation, and lightly blend, taking the extra product left on your finger across your brow bone. Luminous!

Extra fabulous points go to making me look alive after a night out – I mix it in with my foundation and then do the cheekbone application for a double hit when my skin is showing no signs of life.

Point proven, it’s great.

However, one thing does annoy me, if only for the fact that I’m greedy and wish to use up every last drop of this pink magical elixir.

See the excess product around the top of the bottle and the cap?

It’s quite built up. This is my second bottle of High Beam, and I thought it might have just been a less-than-tight cap, but after checking with a friend who also has the same problem (including leaking into her make up bag) I’ve concluded it’s a slight packaging flaw.

If I was a Benefit packaging designer (do they have an official title? I imagine them with perfect make up and white lab coats) I would change it to a pump dispenser. That may translate to a slightly higher product price, but would make up for the product that you lose around the bottle neck and cap. Trés sad for the product loss.

Which brings me to my point: if you were a packaging designer for a day, would you change any of your favourite products?

A little tweak, or a major overhaul?

I’d love to hear!

5 Responses to “Packaging Tweaks”


  1. 1 Kimberley March 29, 2010 at 9:20 am

    It does seem like a strange form of packaging for this type of product. Quite interested in testing it out though! x

    • 2 hollyjcurtis March 29, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      I got this tweet from Benefit today:
      @BenefitAus @hollyjcurtis Thanks for the fabulous post & feedback. We will definitely let the overseas experts know! XO

      So hopefully it has a little influence and we can get more High Beam for our buck!

  2. 3 Tammerly April 16, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Hey hun,
    As mentioned on twitter, I hate how Dermalogica Microfoliant is packaged in a tube which is easy to catch water when the powdery rice bran extract must be kept well away from liquid and moisture.
    As soon as water or moisture enter the bottle, the whole thing dries up. A man must have created the packaging…duh!


  1. 1 Review: Ellipse Skin Science Face and Neck Moisturiser « Am I There Yet? Trackback on May 24, 2010 at 9:32 am
  2. 2 Have you met Pearl? « Am I There Yet? Trackback on September 24, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


