Brows @ the Benefit Brow Bar

About two months ago, I made the decision to grow out my eyebrows. I admit the first week or two may have just been a lax ‘tude to my brows, but after that, a conscious decision was made to let them go wild – with the intention of a harsh whip back into shape of course.

And it was hard. Oh it was hard. Life doesn’t stop for your brows to grow out; social events were attended and photos of my face taken. I cringed to think people may have thought I actually wanted them in that state! A strong will was needed to resist the temptation to pluck out that one rogue hair curling in the opposite direction to the others, or to trim the hairs once they had started to bubble up. (Weird I know, once my brow hairs get to a certain length, they just get a kink in them – think one half of the Mc Donald’s arch)

Disclaimer: Eyebrow hairs may have been tampered with and picture may not be an accurate representation.

But I persevered and let them get truly rank, with the goal of going to the Benefit Brow Bar and having them attended to. I had read so much, and walked past curiously enough times to pique my interest, that I decided I must try it for myself.

After a few attempts to get them done at the Burke Street Melbourne bar – they were booked out both times, I would suggest calling ahead to see if they are free, yes I know it says ‘drop in service’ but save yourself the frustration – I went to Chadstone Myer’s Benefit bar.

This isn’t the Chadstone store but they all look a lil’ something like this:

Image courtesty of lipstickpowdernpaint.com/

I was taken to the waxing station where I propped myself up on the seat and explained to the very friendly brow-girl (a qualified beauty therapist – phew) that I was after a defined look that wasn’t too thin (after all, I hadn’t just grown all those hairs to have them totally ripped out again)

Having always been used to lying on the traditional table while having waxing done, it was a strange feeling to be sitting on a stool, trying to keep your head steady as the wax is applied to your brows.

A few strips were ripped off the first, and kudos to the waxer, I barely felt them she was so swift, and I was shown the result for my approval (yes) and then the other brow was completed.

Within 15 minutes my eyebrows had been waxed and then powered in to fill any sparse places. Easy.

I am really happy with the shape my brows were given, they are very close to my natural arch. I think I would like the second half of my eyebrow to be just a leetle bit thicker, so next wax I will request that.

A wax at the Benefit Brow Bar is $25 dollars, or you can request tweeze-only for $35.

It’s definitely an easy option during your lunch break or while shopping, but students or those looking to cut back may find they can get similar results at their beauty therapist for 5 – 10 dollars less. Or 2 – 5 sushi rolls, depending on your filling. Yes, I think in sushi currency.

The result:

New brow shape, with a little help from Benefit’s Brows a-G0-Go brow shaping kit. (My new obsession)

7 Responses to “Brows @ the Benefit Brow Bar”


  1. 1 Natalie April 28, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Hey! Were you at the Melbourne Primped Look Book? You look awfully familiar & I see you attended one..

    http://www.lemon-butter.blogspot.com

    • 2 hollyjcurtis April 28, 2010 at 3:31 pm

      Hey Natalie
      Yes I was! I went to the 6.30 event, which one did you attend?
      Nice pic with Zoe! It’s funny I have one on my Primped Look Book post and it’s taken in nearly the exact same place with myself and a friend!
      Just had a quick look at your blog, I look forward to reading it more,
      Holly.

  2. 3 Stacey April 28, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Hi Holly
    Can I ask who did your eyebrows at chaddy? I will be growing mine out and will hopefully be heading to the benefit counter soon after!

    TIA

    Stace

    • 4 hollyjcurtis April 28, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Hi Stacey,
      Ahhh… Her name started with J…brown hair.. her name has escaped me sorry!
      Maybe Jenny? I’m not sure sorry.
      Good luck for growing your brows out, it’s tough but worth it!
      Holly.

  3. 5 Amy September 15, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks! This was really useful! It was one of the first things to come up whyen I gogled Benefit Brow Bar.

  4. 6 Jessica December 12, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Hi there,

    In the photo of your eyebrows why the hair is stiking up ? Have you applied anything on it ?

    I am letting my eyebrows to grow but few hairs are growing downwards !! they used to grow in upwards direction. What should I do ?

    Appreciate your reply.


  1. 1 Benefit Boutique Paddington « Am I There Yet? Trackback on July 27, 2010 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories


