I’m a ‘Special’ Beauty Product Saver. Are You?

Why is it that we ‘save’ some beauty products for only ‘special’ occasions? You know the ones. The accessories for our daily perfumes; the body washes and moisturisers that compliment and strengthen the scent. There are others; the expensive body oils, limited edition items, gifts that end up as display items rather than used ones.

Maybe it’s just me?

I’ve always done it though, whether keeping the complimenting body washes until there is no perfume left to marry it to, or waiting for an occasion to roll by that is worthy of my set aside ‘special’ products only to find they are so rarely used I forgot to even apply them.

Nearly two years ago I received a beautiful gift from my mother – a Chanel No5 scented body powder and puff, and the No 5 Sensual Body Elixir. How fabulously vintage-boudoir. While these items look beautiful on my dresser table, I can’t help but think they should be used more, rather than left to collect dust.

And so I found my quarter-year beauty resolution. Why shouldn’t I use these beautiful products on a regularly, if not daily, basis? Shouldn’t we all be able to justify each day as ‘special’ enough to pat oneself with a divinely scented No5 powder puff?

My bevvy of 'special' products.

My regular Palmolive shower body wash has been joined by my Marc Jacob’s Lola wash, and on nights out I am layering the scent of my Chanel Coco Mademoiselle with the adjoining body wash and moisturiser. I remind myself to make bedtime a little more luxurious with some of the No5 body oil, and I’m finding the delight in using the powder puff after a shower.

Keeping in mind I would never want to become blasé/desensitised about/to such beautiful, and expensive products (maybe that is why they were regarded as so special and to be saved in the first place? Knowing I couldn’t just run out and buy them myself?)  I will aim to not let them go to waste, while still appreciating and respecting the fact that these are not your run-of-the-mill daily beauty items.

Are you a product-saver?
What items do you regulate to special occasions only?

6 Responses to “I’m a ‘Special’ Beauty Product Saver. Are You?”


  1. 1 Amy : Homemade Bath Products May 4, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I’m guilty of it, too. I have a basket full of beauty products that I save for special occasions. The problem is that I don’t have enough special occasions that warrant using them. I guess every day could and should be a special occasion. Maybe I’d feel better if I gave myself permission to use them every day.

    • 2 hollyjcurtis May 4, 2010 at 12:29 pm

      Hi Amy!
      Yep, I know what you mean, It’s almost a guilty little pleasure to use your special products on just a ‘regular’ night.
      Great to hear I’m not alone!

  2. 3 mujj May 4, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Glad to hear you are “allowing” yourself to indulge the beautiful feeling in using these ‘so spesh’ Chanel scents…..YOU are special darling girl – so ‘patpuff’ away with your devine powder puff all you wish – there will be more!!!
    I remember feeling very special when I was a young girl having been given a ‘powder puff’ – not quite Chanel but it didn’t matter. The soft caress of the ‘puff’ made it on its own.

    Love your Mum X

  3. 4 Marie Therese May 5, 2010 at 1:04 am

    I’m one as well. HAH! I never thought I were.

    It reminds me of that old lady I was working for one time. She was 97 years old, healthy, but needed some help with certain things. She liked to look nice, she had long silvery hair which she would comb several times a day, and she had clothes in her closet for “special occasions”. Being nearly a hundred years old, I had to wonder how many special occasion does she have left?
    Instead of putting on her nice and new jacket, she went around in her old and well-used one.

    I said “why don’t you put on this one instead? It’s brand new, and it looks good on you?” She wouldn’t have any of it. She went around in her old jacket, the new one she wouldn’t dare to put on, not on a regular day, not a chance!

    I guess we sometimes can be funny like that, thinking we have to save certain things for “special days”, when maybe, everyday is special? 🙂

  4. 5 Tine May 5, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Oh definitely. It’s the little (albeit expensive) things that make us feel special, at least for a while, when we use them. I have shower oils and bath gels that I only use on the days when I’m completely stressed out and need a pick-me-up.

    My Chanel blush for special occasions. My Marc Jacobs Daisy perfume (I’m embarrassed to say that it’s only a miniature, but it’s the size that’s so cute that I just don’t have the heart to use unless on special occasions. My expensive candles for *ahem* with the man 😛

  5. 6 Charlie May 14, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Hol, that’s me to a T ! I’m not much of a beauty buff
    but when I receive nice things or treat myself at duty free
    to said Chanel bronzer, mascara and yves saint laurent specials I’m hesitant to use them, especially my abercrombie & fitch number 8 perfume ( can’t buy in aus.. Tear) I’m torn between smelling lovely and saving the beautiful liquid. Ah well maybs il get you to get bulk for me while your in NYC!! Loving the blogs, keep it up! X


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


