DIY Balayage

Oh how I love a head of balayaged locks. It is a look I am dying to emulate for myself, but in my last salon visits I’ve been told blah blah blah hairdresser reasons why I couldn’t, (I’m guessing they actually don’t know how to do it properly) and I haven’t had the money to visit a top salon who knows their (balayage) shit. Sigh.

My friend Erin wanted to update her look, which she found out a few months ago was accidentally already super on-trend as she had let her hair grow out but all of a sudden it was balayage – sweet! However it had started to darken and move more away from the balayage look to just looking a little unkept.

So that’s where I step in. Being the super experienced/qualified, talented, award-winning (didn’t you see the coverage in Bazaar?) hairdresser that I am, I took control and said “Dahhhhhling, I know exactly what to do with these locks. You’re going to look fahhhhbulous!”

So we grabbed a box of Garnier dye from the chemist (supplier) across the road and ran back to the salon (our couch) to begin the process (using an old blush brush). My client got the best treatment, live screening of the MTV Movie Awards kept her occupied. (and me!)

The expert at work..

I confess. I’m no where near a hairdresser, and I applaud Erin’s blind faith in letting me attempt this! I used the little knowledge I had from reading about balayage in the past, and then made up the rest. I’m sure bits of dye bled onto bits of hair that weren’t meant to be died, but hey – it’s looks amazing, as you can see:

That'll be $400 dollars please!

Anyone else want to book in?

4 Responses to “DIY Balayage”


  1. 1 mujj June 8, 2010 at 11:33 am

    well done baby, erin’s hair looks really fantastic. What a brave girl!!!!!!

  2. 2 Jess August 2, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    looks awesome!! i was googling ‘how to balayage’ and found this page. a million other web pages told me to leave it up to the professionals but whatever, i’m going to attempt this on my hair tomorrow.

  3. 3 Mookxi December 6, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    You did such a great job ! Looks really good and I definitely want to try this ! Any tips ? ;-D


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


