It’s so cheap, I must be on NARS.

I visited Times Square today, and amid the hustle and bustle of taxi horns and a million camera flashes going off, there was one beacon of joy and black and white simplicity that reached out and dragged me towards it. Sephora. The everything-beauty-mega-store.

One of the first make up brand counters I saw was NARS, which is stocked at Mecca Cosmetica in Australia, and may I say – expensive. That’s why my jaw hit the floor when I looked at the prices underneath the rainbow of blush samples popping out against their black background. No way!! Yes way. These prices were real, and I was in the midst of an Orgasm-overload as I rapidly applied the cult fave to either side of my face. And then I found the liquid illuminator version, gave a little squeal, and applied some more. And then searched for the bronzer on my wish-list, Laguna, and chucked that on too with the zest of a five-year-old discovering Mummy had finally left her make up draw unlocked. Needless to say, my face was a muddy-pink mess but I didn’t care. Just like the sales lady didn’t really care when I kept gushing, “No you don’t understand! This stuff is like $80 in my country!! Eeeeek!”

I finally left with 3 products, my first-ever NARS:
-‘Orgasm’ Blush
-‘Laguna’ Bronzer
-‘Orgasm’ Illuminator

Which came to a grand total of $87. (Okay, not including the $7 tax)
Had I have made the same purchase in Ausralia? $203.

Pause for dramatic effect.

Do you need an extra second? I sure did.

I think I’ll have to go back to try some foundation, which is only $41 dollars, give or take a few greens. (We’re in the US here..)

I’m so excited to incorporate these products into my everyday makeup routine and mix and match with different looks. (Bonus: guilt free!) Not only for the rave reviews and cult-classic status these products, in particular, Orgasm have, but for the luxe, stylish packaging, and as I’ve mentioned, I’m a sucker for chic packaging! The clip top powder cases are sturdy, and the black casing has a velvetly-rubber feel you could touch all day. Which I think I might.

Joy. Glee. Elation.

In new-prod-heaven,

Holly. x

10 Responses to “It’s so cheap, I must be on NARS.”


  1. 1 theloveofpink June 9, 2010 at 9:37 am

    I love all those prodz – you chose well! Def go back for the foundation, I wear Sheer Matte almost every single freaking day.
    The packaging is awesome but it gets SO grubby – maybe I am just grubby though? ponder.
    travels sound awesome x

  2. 2 hollyjcurtis June 9, 2010 at 9:44 am

    No, it’s not just you! I have seen other girls’ make up bags and the black can get grubby.. Possibly due to the velvet ‘sticky’ feel of them..? I’ll try and keep mine clean as long as possible!

  3. 3 mujj June 9, 2010 at 10:48 am

    oohh, I love you Holly Jane!!!!!

  4. 4 Joey Chong June 9, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Great buys!!
    The price diff is real huge…
    Are you liking the products?

  5. 5 Annanotherthing June 10, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    I love Sephora.. when I saw the photo on your post, my heart skipped a beat!

  6. 6 ampersandmel June 10, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    You’re finally on the NARS/Orgasm bandwagon! I’ve been in love with NARS forever, esp the Orgasm blush and now the illuminator. It’s so good when mixed with foundation. Check out the lipsticks and glosses – j’adore!

  7. 7 Kimberley June 17, 2010 at 10:06 am

    I am so jealous Holly! I’ve been wanting the NARS Blush and Bronzing Duo in Orgasm/Laguna for months now but it is so pricey here in Melbourne. If you go back could you maybe grab me one? *bays eyelashes and smiles sweetly* 🙂
    xx


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


