I Blame The Top Knot.

Ever been in a makeup/hair rut? I sure have. Those who haven’t, please close your browser, fire your personal makeup artist and hairdresser, wait a few weeks, then come back and read on.

It’s not like there is a lack of inspiration. From amazing bold eyes staring up at us from glossy pages, or bouncy curls passing us in the street, there is a myriad of looks taunting us with their creativity and chic.

So what’s the issue then? Well, I for one am guilty of ticking the ‘lack of time’ box on the ‘Reasons Why I Have Worn the Same Hairstyle All Week’ survey. Somehow, when I wake up in the dark at 6am, I don’t feel like whipping out the rollers and red lippy to create a mad 50’s look. Most mornings, this lack of motivation sadly even extends to plugging in my hair straightener.

Can I just say, HALLELUJA for the invention of the top knot, my favourite ‘do – so devilishly easy and sneaky it should be illegal. At least for the purposes of changing it up in busy times; vintage waves have no chance against the powerful pull of an easy top knot. It can be so many things – polished, chic, modern, grungy, messy – but most of all, a black hole of hairdo repetitiveness. It’s not that I don’t want to be mixing it up in the hair/makeup stakes – gosh no, I would love to be whipping out a different style each day!

So seeing as I don’t have kids, am currently on holidays for the next 6 weeks, and don’t have a gym membership, all excuses for lack of creativity are out the window. There is no, “I have to get up early/I’m going to the gym to get sweaty anyways/I’m way too tired.”

It is my goal to try some new hair and makeup looks, and hopefully by documenting it for the world to see, I’ll keep to my commitment, and possibly share a few experiements.

So, does anyone else have these kind of ruts?
Do you blame the top knot?
How do you pull yourself out?
Any favourite looks to get me started?

5 Responses to “I Blame The Top Knot.”


  1. 1 Sharon June 10, 2010 at 8:58 am

    I’d love to see you do a nice bouncy/full curl style (hair out). But one that doesn’t take long to do. I’m turned off by spending an hour in the bathroom curling my hair to achieve full bodied curls. Maybe something that we can whip up in around 20mins?

  2. 3 Frou Frou June 20, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE the top knot! I must admit I can be quite lazy with my hair – I wear it down to work every single day. This is because almost every time I wash it, I blow dry and straighten it which kills any enthusiasm I may have had for trying out a fishtail braid or teasing it into a chic ponytail.

    Gorgeous blog! Have subscribed and will be back to read more. 🙂


  1. 1 How To: Le Top-Knot « Am I There Yet? Trackback on July 28, 2010 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


