Late Night Lippy Run

It was Saturday night, which meant yet another 21st, and after a late Friday night prior and 10 hours of work that day, I was feeling less than inspired when it came to pulling together an outfit and make up look.

Every image conjured up in my over-tired mind failed to impress the toughest judge. Myself, not Heidi Klum. She was kinda busy with some show of hers…

Suddenly it hit me. All I needed to take my outfit from drab to fab (thanks Carson Kressley) was a few swipes of candy pink lipstick! In a certain shade I was introduced to by the beauty queen herself Zoe Foster. While on a bout of work experience at Primped, Zoe wore it one day and I’ve meant to get it ever since. Why not at 7.30pm on Saturday night as I’m getting ready to go out?

The shade? L’Oreal Paris Colour Riche Anti-Age Serum in Freshly Candy. It’s the perfect super-pigmented matte musk pink, and I needed it to complete my outfit. So much so that I drove 20 minutes out of my way and handed over $26.95 (a serious soul killer considering I had just returned (broke) from the US; the land of dirt cheap cosmetics.) In my defence, I only own one lipstick. So naturally I am allowed to add to the lone lippy; it’s being picked on by the army of lip-glosses on my dresser.

While I did feel a little crazy as I drove to the late night chemist on my one-woman mission, it’s no different to a late night Macca’s run right? Shit, that happened later too…

I’m more than pleased I did it though, apart from the dollars of course – phone bill, I’ll get to you soon! I love the colour and wore it constantly all weekend. With vitamin E and Omega 3 it didn’t dry my lips out, was long lasting and only a few swipes were needed to get an opaque matte finish. Also made my teeth look whiter. Good one!

Another cool element of this lippy is the different coloured core, which contains the anti-aging serum – sure to garner a few inquisitive comments!

See? The core! Ooo and there's that American Apparel nail polish I'll be blogging on soon...

I’ll pass this one off as dedication to a love of beauty, but if it starts to happen regularly, please intervene.

Freshly Candy, you are the musk stick of my adulthood.

6 Responses to “Late Night Lippy Run”


  1. 1 Jade August 10, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Very nice 🙂 I used to be a gloss girl but now it’s lippie all the way! 🙂

  2. 2 sarahayoub August 10, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I wish I had the guts to do Lippy! I think it is so classy. And I love red especially (I feel like I was born for another era altogether, one far more glamorous and lady like). But alas, I have thin lips and not a lot of aptitude for make-up.
    On the other hand I LOVE LOVE LOVE your nail polish.

  3. 4 beccertron August 10, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Oh I have this shade too! It’s so pretty and feminine, and the creamy texture is divide.

    It’s one of those lipstick colours that really doesn’t do much for you when your searching in store, but once someone recommends it and you try it, then you’re sold!

  4. 5 Elise August 10, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I ADORE this shade. I wear it all the time and it’s my default when I don’t know what else to do to fix an outift (that, and red lippy). Gold star for your beauty dedication!

  5. 6 Sandi August 10, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    I love lippy. Even though I don’t wear a strong one too often.

    But do you know what I love more?

    Your writing.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


