What was your first perfume?

You know, real big-girl perfume. Not just your collection of like, every Impulse body spray there was, including the special editions like the Spice Girls can (which smelt awesome by the way) and sometimes even double of your faves – mine was Incense I think.

My first real grown up, brand-name perfume was Anna Sui Dreams, which I begged everyone who would listen to buy me for my 14th birthday. My Uncle, reigning eBay King, had it shipped from somewhere and my birthday wishes came true. Now, 7 years on, I still have it for hoarding sentimental reasons – albeit a tiny blue drop in what was once an ocean of sweet smelling Dreams.

My one little drop of Anna Sui Dreams...

Yes, I still sniff it.

It brings back such a flood of memories from my teenage years – I made that bottle stretch for a good few years! I still love it, not only for the memories but also the scent, but I don’t know if I would buy it again.

So, I’d love to know –  what was your first perfume?
Are you still in love with it as you were back then?
Seriously regretting the way you smelt for a year or two?
Have you tried Anna Sui Dreams? Yummo!

18 Responses to “What was your first perfume?”


  1. 1 Shitika August 23, 2010 at 7:45 am

    My first perfume was JLo’s GLOW… I still have the bottle at home. I forced my sister to gift it to me on my 16th birthday. Haa.
    I still love it. Love it, because it has fun/naughty memories attached to it. I wouldn’t particularly wear it today. My senses have definitely matured, as I have.

    xx

  2. 2 Anj (@anjwrites) August 23, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I might be dating myself here, but I think my first was Fire & Ice (L’oreal or Revlon), but when I was old (and wealthy) enough to buy my own I fell in love with Ghost. I still prefer scents with vanilla, chocolate or cinnamon undertones. 🙂

  3. 3 Jade August 23, 2010 at 8:05 am

    My first big girl purfume was Clinique Aromatics, I still love it, to me it’s a really sexy, earthy, mysterious scent probably not one suitable for when I was 13/14, my grandmother gave it to me because she didn’t like it I think lol 🙂

  4. 4 Kimmi (@plasticdiaries) August 23, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Oh mine was ‘So….?’

    Wait is that a big girl perfume?

  5. 5 Eleanor August 23, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Mine was “Lovely” by SJP.. Still love it and wear it occasionally!

  6. 6 sarahayoub August 23, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Aww this post is so cute! I am also gonna show my age here but mine was Tommy Girl. My mum bought it for Christmas for me when I was 13. I think I wanted it because I bought into its laidback American girl next door advertising. That and all the models were always looking so fresh. I dont have it anymore, but I still have the make-up bag that it came with. It houses emergency make-up and make-up wipes and I leave it in my car.

  7. 7 flickity_split August 23, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Think mine was also Fire & Ice (L’oreal or Revlon) Anj… At my casual job, the bosses used to get all the girls one of those gift sets – you know with the body lotion in the box – for Christmas.
    I’m pretty sure that was the first “real” perfume I ever had…
    Still love the smell too!

    Before that it was definitely Impulse!
    Great post Holly
    xx

  8. 8 Annette @ Wellness WA August 23, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Cute Holly!

    I’m with Sarah, Tommy Girl was mine!

    I also had some of the ‘So…?’ perfumes but didn’t use them much and they were kind of a mix between impulse / big girl so I’ll stick with Tommy.

    My sister brought it back for me from overseas because I wanted it so badly, I’m not even sure if I’d smelt it before but all that Dolly and Girlfriend advertising sucked me in.

    My favourite not big girl perfume was Australis Waterberry and boys in year 7 always used to complain whenever girls wore the vanilla kisses one. Hehe!

  9. 9 Bec August 23, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Tommy Girl for me, too! They must have had an awesome ad campaign.

    The Body Shop fragrance oils were big when I was a teen too. I remember Peach Fuzz, strawberry and an ocean scented one.

  10. 10 kristie August 23, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    babydoll!!!! still have it and wear it for memories occasionaly.
    xx

  11. 11 Jess August 23, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Chanel No.5
    coz mum used to wear it.

  12. 12 Sarah August 23, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Officially, i think it was an Australis one that I got for Christmas and never wore cause it was FAR too special, but I think my first real one was Cool Water Woman, that my bestie bought me back from her trip to Malaysia as a congrats on finishing Year 12. I used that scent for years and years! Now I love Prada and DKNY Pure 🙂

  13. 13 Sandi August 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Holly,

    The similarities between us are scary!

    Mine was Lolita Lempicka by Anna Sui…and I begged and begged my older sister to buy it until she did.

    I was about 15 and I loved it – and I still do. In fact, I’ve still got the first bottle of it (although empty).

  14. 14 natashajean August 23, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    My first one was Flower by Kenzo. I think I was about 11 when I first got it. I begged my mum to buy it for me at the duty free shop in Singapore airport after I’d seen the ad for it on MTV.

  15. 15 Sharon August 23, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I think my first real perfume was Ralph by Ralph Lauren – in that small bright blue bottle. I’ve still got the bottle (half full) and every now and then I inhale the sickly sweet candy scent and it transports me instantly to my teenage years and makes me think of summer time, the beach and being outdoors. I think it was a Christmas present which may explain the association with summer. Couldn’t wear it now though as it smells too ‘young’.

    These days I have preference for a fresh, citrus fragrance otherwise known as DKNY Women.

  16. 16 Sarah Hannah August 23, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    ohmgiod the spice girls impulse was AMAZING! sooooo yummy! i think my first one that was actually mine and not just given to me by my mum was either Tommy Girl by tommy hilfiger or CK One. to this day that tommy girl crap reminds me of being in year 8 in highschool and its just torture!!! slthough i did recently buy another bottle of ckone, so hmmm…

  17. 17 Frou Frou August 23, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Davidoff Cool Water! I bought my first bottle duty free when I was 15 and on exchange in Europe. I cannot stand to smell it anymore haha.

  18. 18 hollyjcurtis August 25, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Thanks for all the fantastic responses girls! I loved reading them.
    Wow, pat on the back for the Tommy Girl marketing team! The standout winner!
    x


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


