Me, My Mum & Clarins

How did your mum (or other significant female in your life) contribute, if at all, to your beauty experiences? Did you inherit any favourite tips, routines, brands or products?

Maybe your mum wore little to no makeup, and that’s worn off in your own casual, natural style. Or the scent of a certain body cream will always remind you of your mother’s beauty cabinet.

One thing I certainly inherited beauty-wise from my mum was her love of Clarins – in particular the Eau Dynamisante fragrance and body oils. From a young age, I remember digging through her beauty bag of the moment, always themed with white, red and gold, always scored as part of a Clarin’s gift pack or GWP. When it came time for school camp, I took one of the old Clarins bags as my toiletry bag and woah, didn’t I feel chic.

For me, the Clarins brand evokes a feeling of class, grace and sophistication, and subtle luxury, (must be the French origins) something that even as a young girl I understood the power of. The products smell beautiful (think natural plant extracts and their accompanying scents), the packaging is divine, and the products effective, resulting in a cult following and a hugely successful history.

Of all of the Clarins bounty mum had, the prod I found myself repeatedly sneaking squeezes out of and then eventually stealing was the world-famous Beauty Flash Balm. Oh gosh, I love this stuff. Every gift pack that came on a birthday, anniversary or Christmas (it’s all she would ask for, and was an awesome fall-back gift – “Dad, just get a Clarins pack… no it doesn’t matter what’s in it!”) I would immediately dive in to see if there was a sample size Beauty Flash Balm, and consequently transferring to my own makeup bag. This is in teenage years of course, I wasn’t applying the stuff as an 8 year-old. I never did wear much makeup as a teen, only acquiring my first foundation at around 17, but I would use Beauty Flash Balm under some bronzer or just alone, quickly falling in love with the bright radiance and refreshed look – before I even knew what ‘illuminated skin’ was. It’s definitely set the precedent for my adoration of illuminating products.

$60 for 50mL

So it’s no surprise that it’s still going strong after 30 years. Yes, 2010 is Beauty Flash Balm’s 30th birthday. You don’t look a day over 24 babe! Promise! So strong in fact, that one tube of Beauty Flash Balm is sold every 20 minutes, and it’s been on the top 10 sellers list for every year of its life. Woo hoo!

That’s a whole lot of achievement in one little tube.

So, do you have a favourite product or brand you’ve inherited from your mum?
Have you ever tried Beauty Flash Balm?
Do you want to now? You should, it’s amazing.

5 Responses to “Me, My Mum & Clarins”


  1. 1 Laura September 14, 2010 at 9:34 am

    That is so funny, as I’ve been thinking lately that I need to stop faffing about with dodgy supermarket cosmetics and get myself a proper grown-up beauty bag – and Clarins is the brand I’m thinking of pledging my allegiance to. Now I’m definitely sold!

  2. 2 Jade September 14, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Beauty flash balm was the first high end skincare product I purchased, it is gorgeous for giving glow 🙂

  3. 3 jo September 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    I have used this product for year- It’s timeless!

  4. 4 mujj September 15, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    oooh, my sweetheart, I truly believed I had left my “beauty flash” behind somewhere – never dreaming a “thief”…… haha, how gorgeous, it is with pleasure I share my love of “anything clarins” with my beautiful first born. xxxx


  1. 1 Share The Happy « Am I There Yet? Trackback on September 29, 2010 at 11:03 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


