Vanity Shots: Smudging

Yep, here they are -the shameless (well a little) vanity shots! Some people did ask to see, and in the duty of beauty I need to show you my better-than-expected results from smudging, done last week. After the look of balayage, I was told smudging is how I would achieve it, and yep, I’m happy!

It’s quite a gradual and natural look, which is best for my first time because really, I’m an au natural gal at heart and anything too drastically dark and then light might freak me out! I think next time I might get some of the bottom lightened, just random pieces though to keep with the grown-out, faded and sun-kissed-ends theme!

It was hard to get a pic that showed what it actually looks like, because it can look drastically different in different types of light… so here are 3 pics that give you a general idea… I’m still a bit yeahh.. but nah! when I see the pictures, which again has something to do with using an iPhone methinks! Note to self: get your regular camera fixed! Or buy a new one! Seriously!

So, does seeing this help you understand more? Has it convinced you to try something similar?
Enough that you will forgive the vanity shots?
Remember – you might have to say smudging, not balayage!

Trying to find good light... in my little sister's bedroom - hence the Twilight posters on the walls..

Oh my gosh! How did one of my recent beach holiday happy snaps get in here?!

12 Responses to “Vanity Shots: Smudging”


  1. 1 Missstella September 15, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Lol I giggled at the last picture
    I think it looks great !

  2. 2 sarahayoub September 15, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    You have such lovely hair Holly! No matter how you wear it. And also, you must give me the number of your personal trainer haha

  3. 3 jo September 15, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    oh it looks great!!

  4. 4 Sharon September 15, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    It looks great. But I’m with Sarah on this one – your hair seems to look fabulous no matter what! Thanks for sharing this “smudging” experience with us, I’ve always been curious about the technique and the results look better than I imagined.

  5. 5 Natalie September 15, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    It looks amazing & I’ve love to get it done! But I’d be too scared the hairdresser would stuff it up. I’m a paranoid client.
    I’ll just wait for the old foils I have in my bottom layers to grown out…

  6. 6 Jessica September 15, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    OMG you look AMAZING!!! Wow!

  7. 7 Gillian September 16, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Gorgeous! I’d love to try something similar if I didn’t make the mistake of chopping off my long hair!

  8. 8 Ash September 29, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    I went to go get balayage done at oscar oscar in chaddy and they were going to charge me $400! I live 10 min from Mornington, do you mind me asking the name of the hair dresser that did your hair?

    • 9 hollyjcurtis September 30, 2010 at 8:17 am

      Oh my gosh! That’s an insane price. My hairdresser at Shizu was called Kathy. She has very blonde hair, hope that helps! Oh, and she is going on holidays for a month in about 1 and a half weeks, so get to it! 🙂

  9. 10 Isabela March 14, 2011 at 7:18 am

    Your hair looks so beautiful! I love it! I really want to do that on my hair too, I’ve already find a great hairdresser in my city who can do that, but I’m a bit afraid that it won’t look that good on my hair, because it is really straight and I’ve never had blonde hair (although I really want to dye it blonde)… So, is your hair still like that? Do you think you could straighten your hair and post a pic of how smudging looks like on straight hair? =)

    • 11 hollyjcurtis March 15, 2011 at 7:13 pm

      Hi Isabela!

      Thanks for the comment, and your compliment! 🙂 My hair is a bit of a mess right now – so grown out and totally lost the plot (I’m actually getting it done tomorrow, woo!) so pics of it now would do no good to you! I wore it both straight and wavy/curled and it looked good both ways, but I suppose that style of hair dye does look best with volume and movement in the body of it – just to give the different colours depth. So if you normally wear your hair deadstraight everyday, you might have to go for a very subtle version of it. Let me know how you go! x


  1. 1 Rash Decisions End In Tears – Normally. « Am I There Yet? Trackback on March 16, 2011 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


