What was your first beauty memory?

I’m not talking about the first time you saw a lipstick. I mean the first time you remember actively participating in some kind of beauty act. I’ve thought and thought and I think I can pinpoint mine…

Remember the movie Batman Forever? You know, the dashing Val Kilmer as broody Batman, recently joined by the young, carefree Chris O’Donnell as Robin? Classic movie. Great times. And how cool was the Butler, Alfred Pennyworth?!

Anyways, I loved this movie. Adored it – even in the scary bits. I loved all the characters, even the lunatic Joker (major props to Jimmy C on that character), but none more so than Dr. Chase Meridian aka Nicole Kidman. I highly doubt it had to do with the quality of her character but rather the womanly beauty of her, and the way Batman had a thing for her – incognito or not. Plus, her name was Chase, super cool, right?

Which brings me to my first beauty memory. I’m about 6 I would say… standing on a stool in the bathroom, wearing one of mum’s black singlet tops which lucky for me, is the perfect spaghetti strap replica of Chase’s slinky LBD. I’ve found a red lippy from somewhere, which is funny as I never remember my mum wearing any, and carefully applied. My long blonde hair is wavy from being tied up or from air drying, and I’m swishing it around like that minxy Chase does while sitting with the bedsheets. Or if she didn’t – I sure am now.

Swish swish, pout and pose.

Oh hi Chase, you are a vixen!

How embarrassing! Oh, thank god there was no secret video camera in there a la Big Brother. And to think – this was before Britney and the reVAMPed Miley! Good gracious, imagine if I was a child of today – Foxtel and MTV free for all. I would have been bumping and grinding up there on that basin humming Ke$ha.

So, there you have it. My first beauty memory. I sure sound like a self-obsessed sexualised six year old don’t I! Well, I turned out okay, promise. Ten years later might have been a different story…

In the spirit of caring and sharing – what’s yours? Come on, tell me your story and I promise I’m not secretly hoping it’s just as embarrassing as mine to make myself feel better!

No? Too shy? What if there was a brand new Clinique High Impact Mascara in it for your trouble? Yes, you guessed right! My first competition! I know that in the scheme of beauty comps, this is a rather tiny prize but I’m starting small. If this all goes to plan, I have a few more up my sleeve!

WIN ME!

All you have to do is:

– Comment this post to spill the deets on your first beauty memory. (Remember to fill in the email address section so I can contact your lucky self)

– Use Twitter or Facebook to write: “I am entering @hollyjcurtis ‘My First Beauty Memory’ comp to win Clinique mascara http://bit.ly/9KZcP3”

You have to complete BOTH requirements for a valid entry.
The winner will be selected randomly on the 29th October – a week from today.

So, get commenting! I can’t wait to read what your first beauty memory was!

34 Responses to “What was your first beauty memory?”


  1. 1 Maddy October 22, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Hey Holly..love the idea of this Comp…quite different and fun.Hmm..and what would be my first memory ??

    Coming from India,Kohl ( or Kajal) is a big thing.I think I would have been year 6 and watching all the Indian movies I would admire the beautiful actresses with kohl lined eyes in Arabic stytle.
    Now,my mum wasn’t a makeup person so we didn’t have any Kohl pencil at home, but we had a young baby at our place.Now, now..in India, young baby eyes are lined with freshly made kohl to keep their eyes healthy.So, I pinched tha baby kohl( it has the slightly smoother texture than gel eyeliner). Dipped the corner of my ruler and dragged it at the outer corner of my eye to give the Arabic look.

    I am sure, I would have been looking funny,but I was strutting around like a pretty young thing…

    Thanks, Holly for doing this. Even if I don’t win this, this comp has made me smile πŸ™‚

  2. 3 Tine October 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Can’t remember how old I was. My mum wouldn’t allow me to play with her makeup AT ALL, and she had hawk eyes whenever I was near her dressing table. To compensate (okay, this is REALLY sad), but I used to cut out the beauty ad pages from her fashion magazines. E.g. Clinique ad featuring a lipstick. I would cut out the outline of the lipstick, and place it in this folder called “My Makeup Bag”. I would do this to ads of eyeshadows, blush, etc. And then I’d pick up a “lipstick” and pretend to put them on my lips.

    OMG I can’t believe I just told you that because I have NEVER told anyone about this πŸ˜›

  3. 5 Robin Flanagan October 22, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Hi! I love this! It made me think of the first time I decided to become a makeup artist. It was after
    college. I was hung over laying in the living room and I told my roomate,”I am going to be a makeup artist.” To which he responded, “cool.”
    Then I got out my “art supplies” and drew eyes/eyelashes/brows then colored it in w/marker and colored pencil eyeshadow. I almost showed them at my first interview for makeup, but I didn’t.

    “Look, I drew these eyes…hire me” HA!

  4. 7 tegan October 22, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    YAY a first competition. How exciting for you Holly! My first beauty memory is finding my mum’s mascara (god knows how old it was, mum doesnt wear much makeup) and applying it over and over and over, because i really wanted thick fluttery lashes. In the end though i applied it so many times that i could barely lift my eyelids! It must have looked like i had spiders crawling out of my eyes haha.

    I also remember colouring in my lips with my red pen in primary school…how embarrassing…

  5. 10 GlossQueen October 22, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I had to think about this for a while, but I’m pretty sure I’ve figured it out now. My first beauty memory is when I was 5 1/2. I was doing a ballet concert (we were doing the can can) and so got to wear make-up for the performance. My Mum had this fascinating little make-up bag with lots of interesting things in it and made me look so pretty. I remember feeling really special cause my Mum had nice stuff and all the other Mums didn’t (my Mum used to sell Nutrimetics, which back then was called Constan, so she had their products). The product I liked the most was a little red lip pencil. Every time I see a small red lip pencil I still want to buy it.

    • 11 hollyjcurtis October 23, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Oh, how I wished I was a ballerina! I started classes when I was 5.. then quit after 2 weeks because I was too impatient! Why wasn’t I doing the splits and twirling through the air yet? Or more importantly – being done up all pretty for productions! x

  6. 12 natashajean October 22, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    My first beauty memory would have been from when I was about 9. We were staying at my nan’s house because we were holidaying in Australia while living in Vietnam. My mum, sister and I had some of those face masks that you buy at priceline and we had a girly pampering session.

    Every time I see them now in priceline I get tempted to buy some and re-create the moment.

    Apart from that my early beauty memories involve lipsmakers and painting each nail a different colour! πŸ™‚
    xxx

  7. 14 chocolatelace October 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    My first beauty memory was dusting off my mum’s ridiculously bright pink, and funky-smelling blush at age 9. I confidently placed it all over my face and then walked around looking like a beauty pageant contestant, when I actually resembled a clown.

  8. 16 Jessica October 23, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    I love this idea!

    My first beauty memory is of going shopping with my great grandmother at the then named Aherns (now David Jones). This was our little tradition, and we did it every few weeks. My grandmother, even well into her 80’s used to go shopping in fabulous Chanel suits and wore heels until she could no longer stand in them. So my first beauty memory is of her taking me to the Red Earth section to buy me my first moisturiser. I would have been in primary school. She told me that it is important to moisturise every single day – and to never forget to moisturiser the neck, because the last thing I would want is a youthful looking face, and an old woman’s neck! I still remember this and to this day always moisturise my neck!

    xo

  9. 18 Celeste October 23, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I remember my first beauty moment.

    I had observed mum using her lipstick many many times and always wondered what the allure was. This would be when I was about 5.

    So when she went out one day, I climbed on top of her dresser and tried her lipstick, smearing it all over my mouth like how mum did.

    And then I found her eyeshadows and her blush. And boy did I have fun going colour crazy!

    She wasn’t too amused when she came home to find her little clown tho!

  10. 20 Jade October 23, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Ok mine is quite late on I think I was thirteen, it was my first date and well despite having perfect young skin I decided that this date required a cake load of foundation in about five shades too dark for my skin, needless to say we never went on a second date, it is so embarrassing to think back on πŸ˜„

  11. 22 carly October 23, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    ooh this is such a good question!

    *thinks*

    i have this photo. i am probably around three. i loved dressing up. i have necklaces galore on me.

    i look ultra cute.

    and i have makeup on. i remember mum was going somewhere {too long ago now to be specific!} but she was applying blush with one of those awesomely big brushes and i must of made a comment/gesture that i too wanted to be prettiful.

    so i did get prettiful πŸ˜‰

    thats mine.

    can i pluheese win? i need some new mascara πŸ˜‰ hehe jokes. let the best random comment win! xx

    ps. off to tweet πŸ˜‰ im @carlylloyd

  12. 24 whitemoonrising October 24, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    My first beauty memory was…

    …when my Mum took me and my little sister into her dressing room for ‘a special make-up treat’. She would never let us play around with make-up on at such tender ages (9 and 7) but as she pulled out all the creams and glosses and sparkly things she was also telling us that we had to say goodbye for a bit as she was going into hospital to be treated for breast cancer. Being 9 and 7 all we were really interested in was getting some slap on and it’s only been now I am older I understand the significance. She had also bought us matching lipgloss that we could wear to remind us that she was always around πŸ™‚

    Not only is it my first memory of wearing cosmetics but it reminds me of the power of using beauty products when you feel at your worst. We still sit down the three of us and laugh about it.

  13. 26 Tammerly October 24, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Hi Holly,

    Considering I am a makeup artist, you would be surprised to know I did not get into makeup until I was about 20/21 years old!
    My earliest beauty memory dates back to when I was 7 and my aunt had Estee Lauder bags FULL of GWP products and she would give me full size lipsticks in these ugly lipstick godets that came in two colours navy and white and I used to wear these as a child.

  14. 28 Bon October 24, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Miss Holly!

    First beauty moment…hmm… I do remember when I was about 5, every morning when mummsy was applying her make-up I always (without fail) would ask her if I could have some to. So being the good mother she was she said she didn’t want me to grow up ‘too fast’ so she would pop some red lippy on me and draw a cat face on the back of my hand with eye liner and off i went! Thankfully I have grown out of that one!!

    x

  15. 30 miss chew October 25, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Hey Holly,

    My first beauty memory was when I was probably about 6 years and I was in love with my mums solid perfume. It had the most beautiful smell and was in this little gold animal shape, I think it was a frog that you opened up to find the little amount of solid perfume. I used to rub it onto my wrists and neck like my mummy did and I used to think I was so cool.

    Thanks, great comp!

    miss chew
    xx

  16. 32 Gillian October 26, 2010 at 8:30 am

    Ahhh time to reminisce!

    My first beauty memory would have to be when I was in pre-school and I was obsessed with wearing red lipstick. I have no idea where I got it from but it must have been my Nana’s because she let me wear it ( Go Nan!). I remember getting put in the naughty chair because I kept turning up wearing it, such a rebel πŸ˜‰

    I’m surprised I just remembered that ha ha!

  17. 34 Cindy Chee October 29, 2010 at 11:42 am

    My first beauty memories have to be around 4 or 5 years old. I saw my mum preparing my sister for her theater stage play with bright lip lipstick and nice eyeliner and eye shadow. Was so curious and want to be part of it. When my mums not looking i took one of the eyeshadow and lipstick and smear it on my face..haha thinking that i look ‘Fabulous’. Ended up i get punished for ruining her lipstick..but it did not stop me..from continuing doing the same thing..for the love of beauty while growing up. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


