Lip & Cheek Tint-a-rama!

I’ll confess – I was totally scared of lip and cheek tint before I tried it. Too runny, too fiddly, too sticky, too fast setting I’ll end up with red blotches everywhere before I can even get to rubbing it in! Too this, too that and the excuses went on.

I finally wo-maned up to the task of tinting, with my first experience being with a bottle of Benefit’s famed Benetint. The bottle and applicator is the same as my lub-ya-longtime fave High Beam, that is, it looks like a bottle of nail polish and has a brush applicator attached to the lid.

If you’re scared (like I was) of tints the safest and easiest option is to start with the lips. Tints are a fantastic way for those who are keen to start experimenting with a bit of lip colour, but aren’t yet ready for the maintenance and strong pigment that comes with a lipstick. Tints are there to give you a wash of natural, ‘just bitten’ lip colour that’s water resistant and long wearing, so you can apply and go, not having to worry about half-hourly touch ups.

Once you’re competent and confident with using the tint on you lips (you should get to this stage pretty quick smart, it’s just like putting on lipgloss!) you can move on to your cheeks. When I use Benetint ($55), I quickly take the applicator brush and draw an X on my cheek (one at a time) then quickly rub and blend the liquid up into my cheek bone, and again on the other side. No disasters so far, but work fast as the tint will settle in and get to it’s ‘staining’ job quick smart. I have two favourite looks for Benetint, one being a toned down version of the classic red lips and liquid liner look, with Benetint providing a ‘just there’ red for a more day-time take. Secondly, I’ve used it as my fall-back post-big night out look; some pinky-white liner on the inner rims of the eyes, and Benetint to give some colour to my deathly looking pallor.

This is Benefit’s Benetint on the lips, and a light application on the cheeks, which hasn’t shown up that great to be honest.. it was a very light application!

This will last you agesss I've barely made a dint in mine!

Since the Melbourne Beauty Blogger Event, two new lip and cheek tints have made their way into my inner circle, Becca Beach Tint in Watermelon, and Ere Perez Natural Beetroot Cheek and Lip Tint.

The Watermelon Becca Beach Tint ($42) is a much pinker shade than both the other tints, so it’s great for casual day time wear that’s a bit more believably ‘natural’, depending on your skin tone.  It also smells like, you guessed it – watermelon! Good one Becca, I love it! At first, the formula was quite runny and a bit unusable, but after a few goes and lots of shaking, it’s taken on a creamy formula that’s extremely easy to work with.

Getting all beachy with my Becca Beach Tint and sea salt sprayed here! Helloooo summer!

The Ere Perez Natural Beetroot Cheek and Lip Tint in Joy ($29.95) is packaged in a handy roller ball dispenser which is great for applying easily and mess-free to lips, and making sure not too much product comes out! It’s a lot deeper red than the Benetint though, so I might suggest that for cheek application using your fingers as the middle man  to control the colour strength, as once it goes on, it’s not coming off without a bit of effort and ruin to your base! Ere Perez are an all-natural, Australian owned company that also create Vegan-friendly makeup – lots of Eco points here!

Ooo la, the most pigmented of the lot, although it does fade as it wears.

Tip: I’ve always found lip tints rather drying, so it’s important to a) have well hydrated, good condition lips before applying, as you should before any lip product, and b) have a clear lip gloss/balm on hand if things start to get a little tight and crusty! I like to use Nivea’s Essential lip balm, in the blue lid packaging for super hydration that’s not a sticky gloss. On this topic, did you know you can buy Benetint in ulta handy packaging that’s more suitable for on the go? It’s called PocketPal ($39), and is a dual opening lip prod with Benetint on one side, and clear gloss on the other. All your tinting and hydrating problems sorted. Too easy!

How pocket size and handy!

So there you have it, three tried and tested lip and cheek tints at varying price ranges. Surely there’s one there that might coax you out of your scaredy-cave, if I can go and be all presumptuous that you are scared like I was? Or are you a seasoned tinting pro? Do tell.

20 Responses to “Lip & Cheek Tint-a-rama!”


  1. 1 ponikuta November 1, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    I LOVE lip tints, can’t get enough of them. They last longer and they are most definitely very natural for all skin tone. As for the Becca tint, mine was all watery and I just pat/dab them onto my cheeks and works perfectly for cheeks not so much for lips though.

  2. 3 Sarah November 1, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    I have Benetint’s little sister – Posietint; and to be honest, I am a little bit scared of tints (especially because they dry out on the lips). The “X” on the cheeks is a good tip. I might try that next time instead of just applying a big blob.

    • 4 hollyjcurtis November 1, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Yeah, I find the X, once you circle it around with your fingers spreads the right amount of product easily! Oo, I’ve wanted to try Posietint, cooler bottle too! And re: dryness – Once I put a balm over the top, the dryness is gone and my lips look saa-weet. promise. xx

      • 5 Sarah November 1, 2010 at 4:46 pm

        Yeah I thought I would enter the world of tints with a more subtle colour (posietint) because the benetint looked a little intense. I’m gonna try it again with the balm over the top then! Thanks hol!
        P.S. The Benetint looks ah-maze-ing on you!

      • 6 hollyjcurtis November 1, 2010 at 4:47 pm

        Thank you! 🙂
        Also, have a look at the Becca Beach tint for a colour that you like, as I found that because it is more of a cream formula, (rather than straight liquid like benetint) it is the least drying on the lips. x

  3. 7 Jade November 1, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    The Becca looks gorgeous on you 😀

  4. 9 Kimmi - ThePlasticDiaries.com November 1, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    My first experience with Lip & Cheek tints was with the Philosophy one that came out like 10 years ago. It had so much pigment that even the tiniest drop would dye your finger a bright pinky-red. I couldn’t use it on my cheeks without looking like a clown!

    Of course Philosophy don’t make it anymore, but that experience left me a tad scarred so I haven’t tried one since. I do intend to try the Benetint one day!

  5. 11 Jade November 1, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    I’ve always been super hesitant about, but you’ve got me sold!

  6. 12 Annette @ Wellness WA November 1, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Great one Holly!

    You look so cute, you remind me of my childhood friend!

    I like the idea of it, but it’s kind of like eyeshadow for me .. looks great on other peoples, totally skeptical about it for myself!

    • 13 hollyjcurtis November 1, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      Oh, hope she was nice haha!

      Yeah, I know what you mean, but the sheerness of the colour should basically suit anyone, best to start with the pinky shades first (eg the Watermelon Becca) I think! It’s an easy one to try at the counter, squeeze a little from the tube and subtle-y smear on lips 🙂 Go onnn, try it! xx

  7. 14 Indulgent Diva November 1, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Great tips! I too have been a big fan of Benetint and since MBBE, the Becca tint. Unfortunately, I have yet to master the Ere Perez. Everytime I apply it, it goes all too deep red on me and I end up with a deep almost cockatiel-like blush on my cheeks! Sigh…..Practice, practice

    • 15 hollyjcurtis November 1, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      I agree, best to start off with an easier (read: less pigmented) tint than the deep red Ere Perez. I do generally only use it on the lips, and it’s long lasting, which is what your lips need! x

  8. 16 BusiChic November 1, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    The wonderful makeup artist for my cousin’s wedding used Benetint on all of us and the bride was so happy she bought it straight after.
    Me, I’ve had mixed experiences with lip&cheek tints- namely they dry to quick before I’ve blended to make it look natural. However, I have recently been converted by some mirenesse ones I was gifted. Double-ended wand that has tint on one end and a lipgloss on the other for full-proof coordination.

    That said after reading your post, I’m very keen to try Becca and Ere Perez – do love good Aussie beauty products! And this beauty blogger event you went to – sounds amazing – wish. I. was. there!

    • 17 hollyjcurtis November 1, 2010 at 7:52 pm

      Oh, Cheryl, it was the most amazing event! Valerie did a standout job at putting it together! 🙂 I definitely agree about them drying quickly, I think the keey is to keep buffing away until they almost disappear, less is definitely more! If you’re still unsure on tints, I’d recommend the Becca, it’s much easier to work with. x

  9. 18 Celeste November 2, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I find tints scary! Well, not exactly scary but the fact that they dry so fast and I don’t know if I can work quite that quickly.

    I also don’t like the fact that my lips feel so dry thereafter.

    but they do have gorgeous colours. Maybe one day, I’ll muster up the courage!


  1. 1 Link Love  | love vulcanella… Trackback on November 3, 2010 at 8:53 am
  2. 2 Dear Avon, RE: Smooth Minerals Lip Tint « Am I There Yet? Trackback on December 16, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


