Review: Benefit Magic Ink Liquid Eyeliner

My acute lack of talent with a liquid eyeliner wand has long been documented, such as in this post oh, and this one, where my wonky wings and shaky hands overshadowed any pride in the final look. And it’s got to be said – liquid eyeliner can make or break a look. More dramatic than pencil or shadow liner, its beauty is in its precision and boldness. Could you imagine Dita Von Teese without it? Any 50’s or 60’s makeup look would be lost without the key player of liquid liner. So, you could guess my frustration at never being able to nail it…

RRP $38

I can say with glee that I’m definitely ‘making it’ now with Benefit’s Magic Ink Liquid Eyeliner (offered for review). I had tried a few other brands but I can honestly say I nailed it first go with Magic Ink. I had ripped open the box and hastily read instructions before applying – still in my PJ’s – standing back to admire my work and then hollering round the house showing anyone who would look/care (no one). The gals at Benefit are on to something with their ‘Jimmy Jimmy Dot’ application technique. It’s so simple I could smack myself for not considering it! We were all wicked at joining the dots in our colouring books as kids, so why not have some dotty fun on our eyelids?! Say, “jimmy jimmy” and then DOT a small dot of Magic Ink on your lash line, then join up! The closer together the dots, the easier it is to start off, and it gives a more natural looking finish. As you get bolder, thicken the line as you reach the outer edge of your eye.

The formula goes on super smooth, dries fast, is long lasting and is a glossy, blackest-black shade – I love it! The applicator is a super fine brush, which may be the reason behind my success. All other liquid liners I have tried have been pointed tip applicators, which aren’t as flexible as brushes. The super thin brush also allows me to create a really thin line right to the corner to my eye. It’s important to take the line right across the whole eye, otherwise you can make your eyes look smaller than they really are; basically the opposite effect of what it’s supposed to do! Benefit have even produced a funky how-to video on the two different looks of Magic Ink, natural day and more dramatic night.

This is my result, slightly thickened towards the outer edge of the eye. Don’t even ask me about wings – I’m still hopeless at that, but I’m putting it down to the shape of my eyes! They turn down at the sides, making it too hard to flick up! Still, I need to practice that…

 

So, how are you at liquid eyeliner?
In the market for a new one?
This one is a winner!

5 Responses to “Review: Benefit Magic Ink Liquid Eyeliner”


  1. 1 Jessica November 15, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    That looks great! I’ve been practising but it still looks crap 😦

  2. 2 Nikki Parkinson November 15, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    I’m with you, Holly, until Magic Ink, I’d steered a wide berth away from liquid eyeliners. This one makes it easy. Great review.x

  3. 3 Celeste November 15, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I’ve read so many awesome reviews about this liquid eyeliner that I think I’ll have to look at picking this up for myself real soon!

    I’m a huge liquid eyeliner junkie. I don’t like pencil eyeliners as I find them not dramatic enough. Have heaps, but I love love love collecting them! So definitely going to get this one now.

    Thanks for the review!

  4. 4 Kim - Blonde Suburbia! November 17, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    I’ve heard so many good reviews! I am a nutter when it comes to dark eye makeup! aswell as liquid eyeliner I’ve just about tried them all… Except this one… Payday tomorrow πŸ™‚

    In the meantime if your ever on the hunt for a new one YSL do an absolutely amazing liquid eyeliner the brush is PERFECT!

    I think you’ve done a great job… besides you dont always have to have flicks πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Cassandra Rae Ferguson November 18, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    That looks great – well done πŸ™‚

    My tip with liquid liner is to apply in short strokes to form the line, as opposed to trying to draw along in one go. Also, keep breathing – holding your breath (which many people do!) will not keep you still, but actually increases shaking! Holding the eye taut with your free hand can help as well.

    Practice makes perfect! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


