New job musings…

So, I got the job!

For those of you who don’t know, I’m still at uni, and work as a nanny, as well as occasionally helping with kid’s fashion PR & sales. Having never worked in shop-front retail before, I’m diving into the deep end of luxury retail with one of my favourite jewelers – the famous Tiffany & Co. If that blue box and glossy snow white ribbon doesn’t make your heart flutter…it’s just so darn pretty!

I start TODAY, which has made me realise a few things.

-I shall have to check my nails daily for chips (who wants someone with scraggy nails handling their exxy goods?!), and bright summer corals saved for days off.

-Speaking of nails, I’ll have to stock up on a few nude, baby pink shades. Suggestions?

-Beach hair (read: salt-ridden, unwashed for days on end and knotted) won’t be as prevalent this summer. Unless I can find a way to seriously disguise it… No. I can’t.

-I’ll have to have a bevvy of quick and easy ‘fake polish’ up-dos up my sleeve…

-Nights may be spent practicing my bow tying… No one deserves a less than perfect Tiffany bow!

-Spare tights will have to be stored in the glove box and in handbag, because knowing me my ‘hose will snag on silk!

-Is it alright to rotate the same outfit all week? (I do it in real life if I’m lazy and I am seeing different people…. shh, who doesn’t?)

-Is it okay to have already mind-spent half my projected earnings based on website browsing alone? (Um, no.)

-Long wear makeup will take on a whole new meaning when the 12 hour pre-Xmas shopping shifts roll around.

Ah! I’m just SO excited. Wish me luck πŸ™‚

10 Responses to “New job musings…”


  1. 1 Brooke November 17, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Good luck Holly! I hope you’re not too nervous and that everyone is lovely.

  2. 2 Tine November 17, 2010 at 8:41 am

    All the best in your new job, Holly! I’m planning to get me a lil’ something something for Christmas; I might just drop by Tiffany’s to see you too! πŸ˜›

  3. 3 mujj November 17, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Good luck to my darling girl! You will be amazing, they will all love you, as we do. Mum xx

  4. 4 NatalieBrooke November 17, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Good luck, you’ll do fine!! Congrats on getting the job! That must be so exciting. πŸ™‚

    Have fun!

  5. 5 Celeste November 17, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Congrats on the new job! It’s so exciting, being able to work at Tiffany’s. Just seems so incredibly glamourous!

  6. 6 Jessica November 17, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Congratulations Holly!

  7. 7 Maddy November 18, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Wow…Congrats…and Best of Luck..

  8. 8 Laura November 22, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Congratulations! I love Chanel Ballerina as a baby pink nail polish. It’s very sheer but conveniently difficult to detect chips!


  1. 1 Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure « Am I There Yet? Trackback on December 13, 2010 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


