Urban Remedy Detox Diary: Day 1

Dear diary,

I must, I must, I must increase my bust. Oops, wrong diary.

This diary is to chronicle my Urban Remedy Cleanse, a six-juice-a-day detox program that is the brainchild of Emma (yoga teacher, nutrition and lifestyle coach) and Taryn (a nutritionist and personal trainer).

Now, the word detox can be quite a controversial one. Just mention it and someone nearby is sure to either shout, “What a load of” or “Tell me more!” The basic principle behind a detox is to give the body a period of time to cleanse toxins from the system. A common complaint by non-fans of detoxes is “why should you have to reduce/cut out diary, wheat etc for a certain amount of time, milk isn’t a toxin! The body cleanses toxins naturally”. This may be true, but it is my understanding that by filling your body with nutritional juices that are easy to digest, the energy that your body would spend digesting and breaking down heavy or not-so-healthy food can be redirected to the natural detoxifying process, therefore easing the process and speeding it up. Well, that’s my two cents. Here’s Urban Detox’s reasons why you should cleanse.  I don’t agree with starvation or any ‘lemon detox’ water diets, so the fact that Urban Remedy is designed by nutritionists, is sensible and flexible really appealed to me.

There are options of 1, 3 and 5 day cleanses, with an option of Levels 1 – 3. I just completed my first day of a three day, level two cleanse.

7am: Just got home from boot camp (or as I like to call it, ‘group exercise’ – there’s no military style shouting involved) and already thinking about what Ill have for breakfast. Oh… Juice. Excited but nervous…. I need to wait a bit longer to drink my first so that I don’t finish the schedule too early. Nothing worse than going to bed hungry! Packed my little cooler-bag that Urban Remedy supplied. They even give you a little Urban Remedy branded freeze pouch! How perfect for the beach, I can just see a few lemon Ruskis, um, I mean wheatgrass shots sitting in there…

Hi ho, it's off to work we go!

8.30am: First juice down. Spinach, banana, cos lettuce, lime, apple and spirulina. It’s thick and green, but tastes like banana. Yum, this is going to be easy! I’m full! Ahh I’m a habitual sipper, so I left the juice and went about my day, coming back to take sips and ‘chew’ to spread it out over the recommended hour.

Sweaty from booty camp, yum yum!

10:45am: Gulping down the water and green tea, and surprisingly not that hungry. That first juice was filling. No headache to speak of yet, but then again, I don’t think I’m that addicted to coffee.  It’s not an everyday requirement, and I’ll have two a day max. Sugar, on the other hand, is my kinda thang. There is a slight ‘fuzziness’ if I stop and think about it, but nothing debilitating. I barely noticed it, after noticing it of course. Pull out juice #2 (apple, spinach, pear, mint). Hrmm, I’m not that keen on mint…. Unless it’s prefaced by ‘pepper’ and covered in chocolate. I focused on the pear aspect, and found it fairly enjoyable. Still not hungry.

1.15pm: Get out juice #3 (beetroot, apple, carrot, lemon and ginger). Ew, beetroot. I don’t like it at the best of times so drinking it for my lunch isn’t ideal, but it’s not as bad as I thought. Lucky for me, I like ginger in juices (feels like it will do good!) but I can imagine not everyone would be a fan. Still chugging back the water.

1.18pm: Note to self – never be more than 20 metres away from a toilet. Constantly busting.

4pm: Juice #4 (apple, lemon, cos lettuce, celery, silverbeet, parsley, cucumber) and for the first time today, I’m hungry. I mean before, sure, I wasn’t full. I was thinking about food, which I think makes you think you’re hungrier than you are. But come on, diary, you know I can scoff the good (and bad) stuff down like no other. People are impressed by my eating capabilities and it’s something I’m proud of, like a party trick. So this is a big deal for me…whimper. I’m tired, but what’s new at this time. Okay, stroppy minute over and I’m sipping on water. All is fine.

6pm: A zesty pick me up comes with juice #5 (lemon, water, agave nectar, cayenne pepper) which is a godsend, I was feeling pretty hungry. (Although keep in mind that constantly thinking about food is totally normal for me!) All hunger is gone and I have a pep in my step as I leave work and drive to the gym.

7.15pm: Arrive at the gym to meet up with friend who is also on the Level 2 cleanse with me. She’s a bit grumpy and not impressed with the ‘bits’ in some of the juices. As in, not completely thin liquid. I like the bits, something to ‘chew’ on! Walk on the treadmill for 10 minutes as we chat, then head to the sauna to sweat it out – something that Urban Remedy recommended we do during the cleanse. 15 minutes later, we’re soaking with sweat and feeling good. My skin looks fantastic too!

8pm: Bring out my ‘dinner juice’ #6 (coconut milk, raw cashews, cinnamon, vanilla bean, water, agave nectar) – smells delicious! Definitely the thickest, most filling juice of the day. Urban Remedy tweeted to me earlier in the day (they keep in contact with you while you cleanse, so great to have that support!) to say that because I worked out in the morning, I could take sips of #6 throughout the day as it contains the highest level of good fats and proteins to keep you going. This one would be good to have at breakky too if you’re used to eating very large meals then, or to sip throughout the day. Food, or juice, for thought.

9.30pm: Feeling fine, great, dandy. Sure, I could eat, and the family’s dinner was mighty hard to look at but I’m not dying or anything! Not even really hungry. Very interested to see what I feel like in the morning!

9.45pm: I’m sipping around the house with a burst of energy, yipee!

 

 

17 Responses to “Urban Remedy Detox Diary: Day 1”


  1. 1 Natalie November 24, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    I am one of the non-fans and that is my exact cited reason! So, in the interest of research and the pursuit of no ignorance, I just signed up for a 3 day level 2 cleanse for early December.

    Interested to hear how the rest of yours goes!

    • 2 hollyjcurtis November 24, 2010 at 9:57 pm

      Ohh yes I remember you saying that! and a few other people did, and yes, it’s a logical statement. Hopefully it turns out well, I haven’t heard any horror stories yet so I’m excited for my results. Feeling great tonight! Good to hear that you’re going to put your self out there in the name of research! 🙂 I’ll look forward to reading your report! x

  2. 3 emmabovary November 24, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    I am tempted to try one of these cleanses, I feel quite sluggish. Looking forward to seeing how the rest of your cleanse goes=)

    emmabovary

  3. 4 Celeste November 24, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Congrats on finishing day 1 ! I think putting down a diary as you have is really interesting and I read every single line with interest. Will be following to see how it all goes as I’m thinking to do the same myself. Good luck!!

  4. 5 Annette @ Wellness WA November 25, 2010 at 12:46 am

    Aw Holly you are so cute!

    I’m jealous of you getting to do this, they tried to send it to me in Perth but it took over a week and the juices by that time had fermented… 😦

    Hoping for the day!

    Enjoyyyy xx

  5. 6 Emma from Urban Remedy November 25, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Holly that’s awesome! So glad you’re doing well so far. Great that you had a sauna last night. Your skin will be positively glowing by the end of your cleanse!

    A note to all those in Perth – we can’t deliver to you just yet. We tried a special test run for Annette (as above), but sadly we can’t find a way to get it there overnight without it costing a fortune. Of course normally our juices arrive to you super fresh.

    Emma x

  6. 7 Gastronomy Gal November 25, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Oh Holly- just stumbled upon your blog- doing my first urban remedy cleanse next week so excited to hear you are feeling ok!

  7. 9 Jade November 25, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Sounds great, I swear I’ll do this one day perhaps over the new year 😀

  8. 10 pollymae November 25, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Sounds fantastic – especially the sauna and glowing skin part – will have to give it a try before Summer!

  9. 11 Jetaime November 25, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Ohhhh I really want to try this! I’ve been doing a ‘sort of’ detox for a few days now and just starting to feel good, but this is a whole new level of clean. 🙂

  10. 12 Bec November 25, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Did anyone watch The Truth About Food last night on channel Gem???

    It was pretty interesting, they conducted an experiment testing liver and kidney function of several women before and after a week detox (developed by 3 nutritionists) and compared the results to a control group who ate a varying healthy diet, but who were allowed to eat dairy, wheat, chocolate and some treats.

    Whether they’re affective or not, I think healthy ones like Urban Remedy are not dangerous, and are a great kick up the bum to start a healthy lifestyle.

  11. 15 Amanda April 11, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I tried the LuckyYou cleanse and it was delicious! Definitely have heard that it is tastier than UR although I haven’t tried it… You can check out my review here: http://mevsthebulge.com/2011/04/11/luckyyou-juice-cleanse/ 🙂


  1. 1 Urban Remedy Detox Diary: Day 2 « Am I There Yet? Trackback on November 26, 2010 at 10:51 am
  2. 2 Urban Remedy Detox Diary: Day 3 « Am I There Yet? Trackback on November 28, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


