Urban Remedy Detox Diary: Day 3

What on earth am I going on about you ask? The Urban Remedy juice cleanse of course! Catch up on Day 1 and Day 2 of my three day cleanse if you need.

5.30am: Wake up early to get ready for boot camp. I was a bit hungry when I went to bed last night but no signs of hunger this morning. Hands check over face and stomach like yesterday, and still no breakouts. Phew. I do not need any more bouts of breakouts! Stomach is flat. Super flat, like back in year 9 when I was on the Athletics team. Added bonus!

5.45am: Drink the last half of last night’s #6 on the way to bootcamp. Feeling nervous about how I’ll go, as I decided not to exercise yesterday so I don’t know what to expect.

6.00am: It’s time. We start out with a jog to warm up and I feel okay.

6.15am: Have been told we are heading over to “the hill”. Oh shit, I know what that means. I struggle even after a proper meal the night before, let alone juices for two days… Nervous.

6.30am: Feeling fine, except I notice I don’t have as much power in my legs. I’m not passing out or dying or anything, I just don’t have as much strength or explosive power in my legs. Definitely can handle this, it’s just not ideal for training I suppose, as if I could work harder, I would probably burn more. Maybe I’m also scared of pushing it harder than I feel I can in case I get dizzy? That would be embarrassing!

7.00am: Not my best session, but I’ve still worked pretty hard on all muscle groups with a good 20-30 mins of hill running. Feel very proud.

8.30am: Ah! It’s my last day, and while I’m feeling good, there’s no denying I’m pretty excited to eat again! Sorry juices, you’ve been grand but you can’t be the real stuff. Drink #1 and pretend I hate raisin toast with butter…

10.30am: Start sipping juice #2. After a little post-bootcamp nap (quite normal) I am feeling better and juice #2 has certainly picked up my energy levels. Feeling great! I’m whizzing through some posts and feeling quite alert, nothing like last night. Eek, hope the bosses didn’t notice!

TIP: Pack a toothbrush in your handbag, your teeth get FURRY!

12.30pm: Ahh Mr. Beetroot #3, we meet again. Try to think of reasons why beetroot was included, come up with none apart from ‘it must be good for me’. Don’t finish the last quarter, bit over this one.

1.00pm: Need to sip more water. Feeling good.

2.15: #4, you’re not doing it for me so much this afternoon! The last two days I didn’t love you, yet you weren’t too much of a bother. I think I’m just getting over the idea of juice. Plus, I just made a series of cooking gaffes with my pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow night. That, coupled with the fact that I can’t actually eat what I’m cooking for 24 hours have dampened my previously chirpy spirits. Look around and blame the first thing I see – juice.

3.00: So glad nannying has been cancelled, I just need to focus on these last few hours! I think I’ll organise a walk with a friend, get out and get movin’.

3.30pm: HOLY SHIT. My dimpled mounds aka bum cellulite is SO much better. I thought I noticed it on Day 2 but wasn’t sure if I was seeing things, and didn’t want to jinx it. But nope. This is real. I run and check in three different mirrors, and all signs point to YES. Majorly reduced cellulite!!! I would say about 70-80% better? Text friend and ask her if she has noticed the same, she replies yes, same results for her. Wooo hooooo.

4.00pm: Pull down jeans and show another friend my new smooth derriere and thighs. She is amazed and wants juice immediately. I can’t stop staring. In other un-cheeky news, I have a miso broth soup as I’m sick of both water and juice. It is on the approved ‘cheat’ foods list…

4.30pm: Feeling good, but a little grumpy as I pull out #5. There’s nothing wrong with it, but I just want food! Lucky #5 is fairly easy to drink.

7.30pm: Can’t even look at juice #6, and consider my cleanse basically completed….so I have some raw salmon sushi and sesame spinach. Technically naughty I know, but I was super proud to have done three days, considering how much of a huge appetite I normally have.

7.45pm: It’s official. FOOD IS WONDERFUL.

8.00pm: Feeling great!

 

 

10 Responses to “Urban Remedy Detox Diary: Day 3”


  1. 1 anjwritesabout November 28, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Good for you!! I can’t imagine how hard it was to finish up whilst trying to pre-prep some Thanksgiving nosh!! You did so much better than I did on my 3-day Urban Cleanse, but I am actually looking forward to trying it again in a few months πŸ™‚

  2. 3 tegan November 29, 2010 at 10:04 am

    oh Holly you are so honest! love it! its better to hear someone talk about wanting food and all the little details about the cleanse, so that you know what you are really getting into, not that it was just “great”. thanks!

  3. 5 Suzie November 29, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Holly, you are so young! do you really have any cellulite? i find it strange that 3 days of drinking juice is a cure?

    • 6 hollyjcurtis November 29, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      Hi Suzie,

      Yep, I definitely do! Although overall I would call myself relatively slim (sz 8-10)I have a pear shaped body and store fat on my upper thighs and bum, so I definitely have those ‘pockets’ on my outer thighs that stick out, and they are dimpled. Of course it’s not like extreme cottage cheese looking, butit’s definitely there and I definitely saw a massive improvement. I am thinking it may be due to the much higher than normal intake of fluids that I experienced during the cleanse (juices and tonnes of water) so I am trying to keep that up.
      Thanks for your comment! x

      • 7 Suzie November 29, 2010 at 10:24 pm

        thanks for sharing (you’re ace).
        and thanks for the info – you gave a really great review of this… and no doubt inspired many!

  4. 8 roxyallan November 29, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    On Day 3 of my cleanse I had to go to a girlfriends birthday dinner. I sat and watched them all eat steak, vego burgers and ice cream…. It was HELL but I managed to not slip up. But come 12.01am I was tucking into steamed fish and – here is the naughty bit -brown rice and capsicum! Soo, so good.

  5. 10 Gillian November 30, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Great run down and a great read! I’ve wanted to do an Urban Remedy cleanse for a while but might leave it till after Christmas when I have some more $! If it helps with cellulite I am SO there!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


