Urban Remedy Detox Conclusion

So, it’s been a week and a half since I finished my three-day Urban Remedy Juice Cleanse, and if you were following, you’ll know I did a day-by-day diary of my feelings and progress. Don’t worry, I didn’t get too ‘Dear Diary’ on you all…

I just wanted to do a final ‘wrap up’ of my thoughts on the cleanse and also talk about some of the long-lasting results I’ve experienced since I caved to salmon sushi on the Friday night. Then I’ll shut up about juice, promise.

I’m not going to lie, drinking only juice and herbal teas/water for three days wasn’t easy – yet it definitely was not as hard as I was expecting. This is saying a lot from a self-confirmed food addict… oh yes, I’ve got it all, sugar cravings, carb cravings, eating when I’m not hungry just for the hell of it! Just call me Holly ‘baked goods’ Curtis. So I was seriously shocked at how okay I was. I even attended a morning of boot camp without any major dramas.

After my cleanse ended, I ate healthily all the next day – until Thanksgiving Dinner on Saturday night! Turkey and salads and pies, oh my! While my plan was to stick to one serving, (instead of five like the previous year!) I did find that due to the number of different dishes we had, and wanting to try them all, I had one seriously overloaded plate. But come on, I was on juice, not hypnotised! So me being me, I ate it all! It wasn’t too unhealthy actually – turkey breast, (okay a touch of gravy) sweet potato, apple, salads, beans, rice…and then pies. Yes, plural; pumpkin, cherry and pecan pie. Safe to say I was bursting after that feast!

Sunday was normal and healthy, although I found that once I had started to eat again, I was HUNGRY, where as during the juice cleanse I could count the number of times I felt hungry on one hand. I thought, ‘After nothing for three days, surely this bowl of X would fill me up!’ but it was a bit the opposite. I kept it sensible though, and it was so easy to keep on track with healthy eating.

Monday came, and after a full 9 hours at work and 1 hour travel each way – I’d usually be wrecked. But, I was positively BURSTING with energy! I went for a run, did some writing, cooked dinner and did the washing. Super productive, and chirpy to boot. This was my favourite juice cleanse related day so far!

The rest of the week has been pretty great, but the one amazing thing I have noticed is… a massive reduction in my regular non-stop sugar/sweet-treat/carb cravings! Sure, I could look at some cake and think boy, you look like you want to get to know my insides, but, the urge wasn’t strong at all! It was more of a ‘meh, take it or leave it’ kind of feeling, which had me checking my forehead for a raging fever more than once. And, up until a few days ago, I hadn’t eaten any sweet treats. I did because I attended a lovely tea and cake party, held by the gorgeous Kim from Dream, Delight, Inspire. It would have been rude to deny, right? Of course! 🙂

And up until yesterday, I hadn’t had any coffee. I’m not a huge caffiene addict, it’s more the social ritual of it that I missed. So, I gave it a go and while there were no adverse reactions within my body, I do think it further lowered my resistance to my other vices. Enter Red Velvet cupcake at 3.30pm… I do regret it (mainly because the cupcake was so darn disappointing!) but also because I was so proud of the length of time I had gone without these kinds of things – a whole 9 days is a big deal for me! But, then again, I don’t want to be too fixated on these sorts of things, as life can’t be too regimented. Plus, I’d miss brownies way too much!

Overall, The Urban Remedy juice cleanse really opened my eyes up to what I never thought I could achieve, and was a fantastic kickstart to some healthier eating habits. I’m proud to say that I did it, and thrilled that I can actually resist chocolate and the like, which I never thought was possible for more than 2 days! It was a struggle at times (hey, you’re not sipping on mango and berry smoothies all day!) but an overall positive experience that resulted in a bit more energy, a flat stomach, reduced cellulite (yes, I’m telling the truth) reduced cravings, and no breakouts. I would definitely recommend it, especially for those of you who are looking for some fast results to kick start some healthier habits.

PS. I’m sure some of you are dying to hear about any weight loss experienced? Well while the cleanse isn’t aimed at being a weight loss program, you’re bound to loose some kg’s if you only drink juice for three days! (Of course, that’s not sustainable, that’s an eating disorder!) . The scales that I weighed myself on to begin with were different to the ones I weighed myself on after three days (oops!) but I’m approximating around 2-3 kg’s. My friend who was doing the cleanse with me reported a loss of 4kg’s, and I think it’s safe to say I’ve kept 1.5kg off.

So, there you have it, my final thoughts on the Urban Remedy juice cleanse!

 

What do you think?
Keen? Or think it’s stupid?
Come on, let’s get into a good old fashioned comment-discussion!

 

4 Responses to “Urban Remedy Detox Conclusion”


  1. 1 Kendall December 8, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Great post Holly, thanks!

    I’d mentioned that your other cleanse posts have inspired me to try the Urban Remedy Detox and this conclusion seals the deal.

    Almost every night this week I have some form of Christmas party, dinner or drinks so next week I’m going to kick off a three-day cleanse and I think my body will be begging me for it by then.

    I can’t wait to feel amazing and curb the cravings that seem to take over during the silly season.

  2. 2 Jade December 9, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I think it’s good if you can afford it, I am inspired by all the juice cleanse talk so I’m doing my own with fruit and veg I picked up from the supermarket 🙂

  3. 4 Kimberley December 15, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Haha, I’d love to say that I’m sorry for tempting you with the delectable treats, but I’m not. It was so wonderful to see you! 😉 xx


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


