Small Haul From My Makeup Mule

With the recent Aussie dollar parity with the US dollar, it’s fair to say that everyone has been going a little crazy with online shopping. Good on them I say! It’s hard to accept such hikes in item prices when explanations like ‘the exchange rate’ no longer apply.

After a recent trip to the US in June/July last year, which meant a month of squealing “it’s so cheap!” or, “that’s half the price it is in Australia” and buying up a few beauty items, I decided I regretted not getting more.

That’s where my gorgeous friend Lexie, (who I met in Paris but is from California and is dating a guy from Bendigo – she’s a global kinda gal), comes in. After a few months in the US, Lexie was coming back to Melbourne to visit. After my initial elation at the news of her visit, my mind turned to ways to exploit the possible vacant volume in her suitcase… She would be my mule.

Come on now, don’t act shocked – you’d do the same. I don’t mean the Mexico city type of mule that involves body cavities and the empty bellies of sharks, just some harmless beauty buying and stowing! Scared of my gang-like hold over Melbourne, she agreed, lucky for her. I jest! I did say please.

But, once I actually had to think about what I should request, my mind went blank! (I also didn’t want to get anything too heavy eg. lots of skin care/liquids)

Here are the items I came up with last minute:

Benefit High Beam

A replacement for my used up bottle. My first and favourite illuminator! The effects of 10 hours sleep and 10 litres of vege juice in a bottle – fake it ’til you make it, I say! Lexie also saw a ‘Benefit To Go’ version for $10 at the check out, and grabbed that too. How perfect for my handbag!

NARS Bronzing Powder in Laguna

I requested this in anticipation of my current one fading. A few months ago the ominous silver metal circle that signifies the death of a product began to show, and it was all I could do to stop from tearing up. This stuff nears on $90 dollars in Australia, and I couldn’t justify a re-purchase – until Lexie offered to pop by Nordstrom for me, the doll. Love this bronzer, amazing natural colour with just a subtle gold shimmer.

Philosophy Bath and Shower Gel in Raspberry Sorbet

Have you smelled these shower gels? They are amazing! I believe they’re only sold at Mecca in Aus (for the eyebrow raising price of $38 dollars a bottle – in the US they’re $16!) You should definitely check them out. Rich and creamy, their signature is the incredibly true to life scents of each flavour. Next on my list is Belgian Waffles and Birthday Cake! They even feature a recipe to each flavour on the label.

Benefit Speed Brow

I love the importance of brows, and Benefit Speed Brow is kept in my handbag at all times to tame my wiry hairs lest they ever get out of line! A slightly tinted gel that’s applied by a mascara-like brush wand, Speed Brow is the quick and easy way to make your brows look ‘done’ in a flash. Another re-stock for my collection!

Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow in r.s.v.p

After trying this shade (and also Birthday Suit) at the Benefit makeup counter, I knew I wanted it. Need, maybe not, but want, definitely! r.s.v.p is a gorgeous creamy pale pink shade with shimmer, and smooths on beautifully for a lasting finish. The intensity is easy built and I can go from wearing it as a pale wash of shimmer to a pigmented base, perfect for blending with browns and coppers.

That’s it I think! Amazingly, all this only cost me about $120. Go the Aus dollar woo hoo! Thank you to Lexie for willingly accepting this no doubt annoying task, I do appreciate it! Now, when are you coming out again? Haha!

8 Responses to “Small Haul From My Makeup Mule”


  1. 1 Taryn January 17, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Dont worry Holly, we’ll be basically doing the same thing- placing an order to my american friends house and getting her to post it to me!

  2. 2 Frou Frou January 17, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    This is my fave post that you’ve written! You’re developing such a great voice through your writing.

    I think NARS Laguna will be my next bronzer purchase… Francois hasn’t let me down yet!

    • 3 hollyjcurtis January 17, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      Oh thank you so much, what a wonderful compliment – I’m glad you’re enjoying πŸ™‚

      Yes, it really is a great bronzer! Next on my list are a few NARS multiples I think! x

  3. 4 Stacey January 17, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    So jealous – wish I had a makeup mule!

  4. 5 tkj81 January 17, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Nice haul Holly. It seems that we have very similar tastes in products! i am currently using my gingerbread girl shower gel from philosophy, so nice! xx

  5. 6 Annette @ Wellnesss WA January 18, 2011 at 12:44 am

    Lurrrrrrrve Philosophy. Lurve lurve.

    I believe I have banged on about this rather incessantly in the past too πŸ˜€

    I REALLY want to try the Bubbly ‘flavour’ next! Currently using Cinnamon Buns & Melon Daiquiri. YUM! πŸ˜€

  6. 7 mujj January 24, 2011 at 11:12 am

    We love Lexie!!!!


  1. 1 News: Kiehl’s Are Dropping Prices! « Am I There Yet? Trackback on May 15, 2011 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


