Rash Decisions End In Tears – Normally.

A fancy night out is always a great excuse to trial new prods, right? Well yes, and no.

Usually, the pre-event rush to get ready raises stress levels and drains blood away from where it’s needed most (the brain, more specifically the “getting ready cortex” nestled somewhere between the somatosensory cortex and the parietal lobe. Just call me a regular doctor.) and rash decisions are made. Decisions like, “Oh, why don’t I just try this new way of curling, that I’ve never done before, that I probably just made up,  maybe with this old can of mousse I’ve never used! No, that’s not rusting at the bottom! It’s just…brown metal!”

Those kind of decisions, coupled with an hour that mysteriously vanished and you have yourself a disaster, or in my case, multiple disasters. Sometimes, I just don’t learn! (On one hand, it’s allowed me to empathise with men and their extremely questionable choices when their blood rushes out of their brain…south, on the other, I usually just wonder where my blood goes and sulk about another silly choice that didn’t live up to the glamzon, Victoria’s Secret hair I envisaged 30 minutes before my taxi arrived. Is it really too much to ask for?)

So, last week, when I was looking at the clock and thought, “Sugar! Fruitcake! Where did that time go? I need to get ready for the Tiffany & Co. Recognition Dinner!” my mind raced to a new beauty product that had just arrived – Prtty Peaushun Skin Tight Body Lotion. Should I risk it? There’d be no time for a shower if all went wrong and I looked like a clag stick rolled in glitter… Oh! And I’ll also need something for my hair… (Cue rustling around my beauty drawers) These sachet samples of Tigi Catwalk Your Highness will do! Perfect! Some volume will do me good, it’s raining. The sensible part of my brain, its blood supplies rapidly draining, was shouting ‘Don’t do it! Do you ever learn?!’ before it too switched off. Oh, the dizzying high of making unsupported bad decisions about your appearence in front of Very Important People (and National Managers.)

Prtty Peaushun's funky packaging...

BUT (yes there’s a but with this event!) – finally, it all worked out, and I have these fantastic beauty products to thank! Prtty Peaushun is amazing; it gives subtle glow and shimmer to your limbs, without making you look like a disco ball, and contains active ingredients to help firm your skin and cover imperfections. LOVE! Probably the most amazing thing about it? It comes off your hands. That doesn’t seem like a huge thing, but to anyone else who has experienced the frustration of putting on a shimmery moisturiser only to find that their palms are now permanently glitter-fied will be just as excited as me. It washes easilly off your hands, yet I didn’t find a speck of it on my dress. Winning! (Couldn’t resist a Sheen-ism.)

I used the Tigi Catwalk Your Highness shampoo, conditioner, then blowdried with the Thickening Gel Cream. After only a few seconds under the heat, I could tell this stuff was working. I got worried I was creating a monster – my already thick hair coupled with this powerful stuff? How ridiculous! But my idea was to pile it up in a bun, blast with the heat, cool and then tousle out – finally, Vicky S hair! Alright, so once again VS status was sadly not achieved, but woah did I have volume. Never before seen volume. Ladies who like their handbags big but their hair bigger, get on this range!

Some evidence of my Woah Nelly volume, which is big for me as I’m not usually a ‘big’ hair kinda girl… Those smudging roots do look dark in these photos, luckily I’m getting my hair done today! Yippee! I had a couple of comments on my lippy from Twitter, in case you too are wondering, it’s this one.

I must not get too smug over this once-off success… one can have big hair, but not a big head – I’m sure next time it’ll be back to the same old circa 2002 cans of mystery…

So, do you make the same rash decisions when primping and priming? I’d love to hear of your disasters! Yep, make me feel better about some of my previous shockers, let’s just say thank goodness for the top knot!

PS. Held at Carousel in Albert Park, the Tiffany & Co. dinner was stunning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Rash Decisions End In Tears – Normally.”


  1. 1 Maddy March 16, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Holly your hair looks awesome! can you give a blowdrying tip or two – that always what i want my hair to do….

    • 2 hollyjcurtis March 16, 2011 at 11:51 am

      Thanks Maddy! Really all I did was shampoo and condition with that Your Highness Range, then add the thickening cream, blowdry upside down for a while, flip over, continue to blow dry (no round brushes or anything like that – too hard!) pop up into a twisted top knot, blow dry some more, let it cool down, blow dry some more and then unravel. I was hoping for a few more large bouncy curls but, as usual, I was in a super rush and didn’t have time to do it again or go over with ghd! But this Your Highness stuff gave amazing volume!

  2. 3 Natalie Brooke March 16, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    I’m in love with your hair here!! Do you know if they have that product in Canada? I’m always looking for more volume, love big hair!

    Keep smiling!

  3. 4 Teresa Ticehurst March 16, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    thanks Holly! I’m totally addicted to PP – can’t go without the glow now…..;-))

    you can buy it at http://www.beautyworkswest.com.au

    Teresa
    Director BWW OZ

  4. 5 Stacey March 16, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I always do this! I’m like, “Yes, I’ve never tried to do my eyeshadow like this before, but right now, in the 10 minutes before my taxi arrives, is totally the right time to experiment” *rolls eyes*

  5. 7 JuliaTeen March 17, 2011 at 11:56 am

    I think most of us beauty fiends do… but we just need to work on properly allocating enough time to get ready before a night on the town. Its my belief that the makeup ritual is half the fun of going out!

  6. 8 Annette @ Wellnesss WA March 20, 2011 at 2:53 am

    Very cute and pretty as always holly hox!

    Glad the Prtty Peaushun worked wonders on you, the idea of it kinda frightens a pale lass like me!


  1. 1 Friday Link Love <3 « Trackback on March 18, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


