It’s Not You, It’s Me.

Dear Am I There Yet?

Oh, come on. Don’t act like that. All sarcastically surprised and affronted that I’m “giving you the time of day”. Your words, not mine.

Uncross those arms, turn that toe back inwards 90 degrees and lower that eyebrow – you’re just asking for some forehead lines! You’re right, that’s not funny, you’re sensitive and feeling rejected.

But, it’s not you, it’s me. I need time, just a little break without seeing 47 text messages on my phone. I’ve had to change my ringtone from Wynter Gordon’s Dirty Talk, because even though it reminded me of you, that song has a limited shelf life as it is, without having to hear it 82 times a day when you call. Babe, it’s nothing you did, I know you’ve been nothing but there for me during my time of wondering if I’m well, there yet.

There’s just a lot going on right now… I’m busy with – Woah, calm down – No, I am not seeing some bitty called Onya on the side! Well, I am – but it’s just work, sugar, I promise! I know I’m always emailing her, that’s what I’m saying; stuff needs to get done, and then I can give you 100%. Noth-ing is going on between us. It’s just deadlines and the super exciting new print edition – noo, that wasn’t a dig at you and your unchanging online presence! I love you just the way you are! Don’t you dare smash that peach teapot, put it down.

Alright, it’s clear that you’re angry, I get it, but I need to be selfish right now.

We’ll chat when things calm down, I’m going to go for a walk. And my goodness that teapot better still be intact when I get back.

Holly xx

2 Responses to “It’s Not You, It’s Me.”


  1. 1 kellyleemccarren March 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Super cute 🙂

  2. 2 kristie March 29, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Best thing you have ever written… i love it.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 101 other followers

Follow my Tweets

Categories


